Town of Moreau

Marriage License Information

Under 17 years old   17 years old

Marriage is prohibited in New York State

 

Need both parents to be present and to sign a Consent Form. There are certain circumstances under which one parent can consent. Parents must bring photo identification and applicants must bring birth certificates.

And, the written approval of a Justice of the Supreme Court or of a Judge of the Family Court having jurisdiction over the Town or City in which the application is made

  • Both applicants for a Marriage License must appear to apply for a Marriage License.
  •  If either applicant has been divorced, the final divorce decree must be submitted for review before a marriage license will be issued. 
  • If multiple divorces have been granted, all final divorce decrees must be submitted for a review before a marriage license will be issued.
  • Applicants must bring photo identification and birth certificates.
  • A fee of $40.00 is charged. Thirty dollars ($30.00) is for the Marriage License. Ten dollars ($10.00) is for the Marriage Certificate which will be issued after the solemnization takes place. Fees are waived for Active Duty Military.
  • The Marriage License is valid for 60 days after the issue date. The 60 day time period begins on the day following the date of issue. The Marriage License cannot be used for 24 hours after it is issued.
  • After the marriage has been preformed, and the Marriage License is returned to the Moreau Town Clerk's Office, a Marriage Certificate will be issued.

    We strongly encourage you to pre-schedule a marriage license appointment.

    Applications submitted after 3:30 PM may not be accepted without a pre-scheduled appointment.

    To schedule an appointment, please call: 518-792-4615.

One Day Officiant Licenses

  • As of March 28, 2023, all town clerks in the state of New York now issue one-day marriage officiant licenses.

  • The authority is limited to applicants who want to marry a couple to whom the town clerk issued a marriage license.  This means that anyone seeking a one-day marriage officiant license must apply at the same town clerk's office who issued the marriage license for the couple whose marriage the individual will be solemnizing.

  • Applicants must be at least 18 years old, and are not required to be a New York state resident.

  • The license is limited to the specific couple identified on the application and expires on the date the couple is married, or thier marriage license expires, whichever occurs first.

  • There is a $25.00 statutory application fee to be collected before the license can be issued.

  • The statute does not require an individual to apply in person, however we cannot accept payments online or over the phone.

  • Applications and payments for out of area officiants can be mailed to: Town Clerk's Office, Town of Moreau, 351 Reynolds Rd, Moreau NY 12828.

  • All electronically submitted applications must include a copy of the applicant's driver's license, state-issued non-driver identification, or passport.  Payment must still be received in person, by mail, or in our drop box, which is located at the Town Court entrance to our building.

  • To print and complete the application, click here.